Esther’s Space- journey through my life

November 19, 2008

If Sartre wasn’t dead…

Filed under: Rave — estherspace @ 1:14 pm

…I’d pray that he’d write an introduction to my book.

Not that that’s something he’d want to do.

So, thanks to VP, I’ve discovered Albert Memmi.  We read The Colonizer and the Colonized for Contemporary Lit. Theory, and I am a huge fan.  To be honest, it took me quite a while to get over the fact that this guy has an introduction by Sartre.  I’m not sure why it amazes me, but it does make me intensely jealous.

But, on to my point.  Where has Memmi been in my education?  He’s pre-Said, pre-everybody.  But nobody talks about him.  Why?  His ideas are clear, he’s easy to read, and is a great introduction to thinking about the ideology and construction of colonial/postcolonial identities.  So why is this the first I’ve read him?  Admittedly, his work is emerging from a very particular socio-cultural moment and place (I’ll get the quotation re: women when I have the book in front of me), but it does not at all detract from the overall value of his work.

I’m now officially a fan.  Perhaps I’ll have a chance to read Decolonization and the Decolonized over break.  ::crosses fingers:: Wow am I a cool person.

I had to say it, but now I must move on to real academic pursuits.

1 Comment »

  1. I’m stalking your blog again. You’re a post-colonial dork like whoa!! 😀 That is all! ❤

    Comment by Anne — November 20, 2008 @ 10:13 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

